top of page

Personal All Risk Insurance

Why would you need all risk cover?

There are limitations to your contents cover and valuable items need to be covered away from your house. The things people carry around with them are getting more expensive by the day.

Three options are available.


1st option to specify items and the best example to explain the section is cell phones. The phone will be covered in your house for fire burglary and things like acts of God. Accidental damage is excluded so if it should fall it would not be covered. The moment you leave the house with your phone it is not covered unless it is specified.

What would be excluded? Things like wear and tear, any damage that happens over a period of time (not a maintenance contract) and theft must be because of visible forcible means. You always have to prove your claim and have the obligation to take care, you cant say you left it on a counter somewhere.

Second option unspecified all risk. This gives a cover for items made to be carried on you as a person. For example, you go away for a weekend you carry with you luggage consisting of clothing and personal effects. Anyone item gets limited to for example 25% of the sum insured. For example, you have a leather jacket of R5000 and you have a cover of R10 000. The policy will payout R2500 less the excess. Cell phones, Ipads Laptops excluded from this section.

The third option "I forgot Cover". This is an unspecified cover on steroids it includes cell phones I pads and laptops. The moment you start specifying a couple of items this cover get attractive. R75000 worth of cover cost R945,00 per month. To spesify, one cell phone of R15000 would be R187,50.

This section can provide peace of mind and make certain sportswear, electronic equipment, weapons and jewellery are protected. Please note there are terms and conditions and this cover is not available with all insurers.


I recently got stung by a bee whilst riding my motorcycle. The bee got me on the side of my head it came into my helmet and the pain was a sudden shock. I pulled off my sunglasses but dropped them in the process to figure out what happened to me. I pulled off the road and assessing the damage I found the bee inside my helmet. I found the glasses but one of the lenses was missing. The road was quite busy and other people waiting for me not knowing what happened I could not find the missing lens. Long story short replacement for my perscribtion glasses was R11000,00 and my policy paid within a couple of days. For me, sunglasses are a necessity not a luxury the same goes for my cellphone, Ipad and laptop. They go with me where ever I go.


Remember you can't buy insurance when you need it.


Albert Schuurman

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page